Skip to main content

EKU Geosciences students take home top awards at KAS

Geology students Laura Norris (left) and Cassie Simpson (right) present their po

Photo: Laura Norris (left) and Cassie Simpson (right) present their poster at KAS

Students from EKU’s Department of Geosciences took home top awards at the annual Kentucky Academy of Sciences meeting, which was was held on the Northern Kentucky University campus November 13-14. Geology major Jacob Robin won first place for the undergraduate oral presentation in geology, and geology major Elijah Wolfe took second place. Working with faculty advisor Dr. Walter Borowski, Robin and Wolfe presented their research examining fecal microbe contamination in Madison County’s Otter Creek Watershed.

The first place poster for geography went to Dr. Donald Yow’s GEO 490 Senior Seminar class. The poster documented the students’ work collecting geospatial data for Berea, Kentucky’s stormwater management plan. Winning students were Jamie Farrar, Nathaniel Crockett, Michael Dickerson, James Farris, Matthew McClure, Laura Norris, Alec Sachleben, and Ross Sanor.  

The first place poster for geology went to geology students Laura Norris and Cassie Simpson. Norris and Simpson worked with faculty advisor Dr. Trent Garrison monitoring surface and groundwater velocities through dye tracing in Fayette Co, KY.

Congratulations also to Geosciences instructor Ann Harris for earning a 1st place win in the Geology graduate oral presentation.

The Department of Geosciences at EKU requires all BA Geography and BS Geology students to complete a research experience and to present the findings of their research in a professional venue.

Published on December 04, 2015

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/