Skip to main content

EKU Geosciences Dominates KAS Annual Meeting

The EKU Geosciences research team is as follows: Top - Hunter Evans, Zeke Buskirk, Addison Bell, and Ethan Sweet (2nd place); Bottom - Dr. Jonathan Malzone, Laura Kelley (3rd place), Lee Minzenberger (1st place); Dr. Walter Borowski (not pictured).

Six EKU student researchers and their faculty mentors presented their geoscience research results at the Kentucky Academy of Science annual meeting. EKU Geosciences was accepted to present seven oral presentations for the geology session, which comprised a majority of the presentations for the discipline. EKU Geosciences alumnus Patrick Gooding ('75, '76, '83) also presented at the meeting, and alumna Ann Harris ('07, '09) chaired the session.

EKU Geosciences swept the undergraduate oral presentation research competition in the Geology discipline. Laura Kelley earned 3rd place for her watershed analysis of EKU Meadowbrook Farm, Ethan Sweet earned 2nd place for his study of natural ridge top wetlands, and Lee Minzenberger won 1st place for his comparison of natural vs constructed wetlands in Daniel Boone National Forest.

Published on November 09, 2016

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/